Essex County Council Cabinet

A new-look Cabinet to lead Essex County Council for the next four years will be announced at the authority’s first Full Council meeting since the election.

Subject to approval at the meeting of Full Council on Tuesday May 16, the new Cabinet will formally adopt their responsibilities in a set of re-drawn portfolios.
The new Cabinet contains six existing members and four new faces – three councillors who were re-elected at last week’s poll and one starting their first term.

Cllr David Finch, Leader of the Council, said: “Our new-look Cabinet retains the talent and experience that has served this county so successfully in the past.

“We have also been able to introduce some fresh faces, who will bring new ideas and approaches to help us meet the challenges of the future.
“This team contains all the skills we need to ensure the future prosperity of Essex and its people.
“Together we will strive to boost the economy through enabling inclusive growth, help people to enjoy independent and fulfilling lives in places which are great to live and work, and make sure our organisation is proactive, efficient and effective.”
The Cabinet portfolios, cabinet members and deputies are:
Leader of the Council
Cllr David Finch
Deputy to the leader’s portfolio, Cllr Anthony Jackson
Deputy Leader of the Council & Cabinet Member for Economic Growth, Skills, Infrastructure and the Digital Economy
Cllr Kevin Bentley
Deputy, Cllr Gagan Mohindra
Health and Adult Social Care
Cllr John Spence
Deputy, Cllr Chris Whitbread
Cllr Ray Gooding
Deputy, Cllr Tony Ball
Cllr Louise McKinlay
Deputy, Cllr Alan Goggin
Children and Families
Cllr Dick Madden
Deputy, Cllr Penny Channer
Culture, Communities and Customer
Cllr Sue Barker
Deputy, Cllr Mark Durham
Housing, Property and Planning
Cllr Sue Lissimore
Deputies, Cllr Lesley Wagland and Cllr Ricki Gadsby
Environment and Waste
Cllr Simon Walsh
Deputy, Cllr Mike Steptoe
Cllr Ian Grundy
Deputy, Cllr Robert Mitchell
Tags: , ,

News Categories


Business Directory Search