Following the vote for Conservative Cllr Bob Bayford to take over leadership of Thanet District Council we have a new set of cabinet members and portfolio holders. 


The TDC Conservative Council Leader, Cabinet and Portfolio Holders

Over the coming months we will be taking a look at what it means to be a cabinet member and how they administer the extensive work portfolios that determine the successful management of the Isle of Thanet area.  In addition to acting collectively in the cabinet, cabinet members also provide leadership and guidance on their portfolio areas for which they are responsible for promoting and enhancing the Council’s profile.



Cllr Bob BayfordCllr Bob Bayford – Kingsgate Ward, Leader of the Council.

The responsibilities of the Leader are to appoint the cabinet, delegate executive responsibilities to the cabinet and committees and allocate executive responsibilities to officers.  These executive responsibilities are administered on behalf of TDC.   The Leader’s portfolio includes the Corporate Plan, Media, PR and Communications, Strategic Planning, Planning Policy, the Local Plan, Major strategic projects and Port and Harbours.



Cllr Jason SavageCllr Jason Savage – St. Peters Ward, Deputy Leader of the Council and cabinet member for Corporate Governance and Coastal Development.

Responsibilities include but are not limited to: Economic Development and Regeneration Policy, Tourism, Information Technology, Legal Services, Management of foreshore and beaches.




Cllr Lesley GameCllr Lesley Game – Cliftonville East Ward, cabinet member for Housing and Safer Neighbourhoods.

This portfolio includes:  Housing Strategy, Client-side East Kent Housing, Community Safety, Margate Task force board, Environmental Health, Homelessness, Recreation and Leisure, Strategic Licensing.





Cllr Ian GregoryCllr Ian Gregory – St. Peters Ward, cabinet member for Financial Services and Estates.

This includes:  Budget Setting, Monitoring and Final Accounts, Policy and Business Planning, Treasury Management (Revenue, Capital and HRA), Risk and Performance, Corporate Property, land and facilities management.





Cllr Rosanna Taylor-Smith Cllr Rosanna Taylor-Smith – Viking Ward, cabinet member for Operational Services.

This portfolio includes:  Parking, Waste management, recycling and street cleaning, street scene enforcement (including fly-tipping), Parks including playgrounds and green spaces, Cemeteries and public conveniences.




Thanet District Council

PO Box 9, Cecil Street,

Margate, Kent, CT9 1XY

Contact Number 01843 577000 





News Categories


Business Directory Search